Members Only
The News Board
Our Organization
Our Fundraisers
Our Fallen
Our Heroes
Our Magazine
Our Store
Our Links
Retiree's Page

Contact Us

The Web Guy



Each year, with the cooperation and participation of our Administrator, Colonel Sam Powell and political leaders, the Wyoming Highway Patrol Association bestows awards to deserving individuals. These are both sworn and civilian members of the Wyoming Highway Patrol, and, unattached citizens who earn this honor through selfless acts of bravery or compassion for their fellow man. We are honored to post them here for the world to see.

The Medal of Valor

The Medal of Valor, our highest award, is presented to sworn officers only, who, at extreme, clear and direct risk to their own life or limb, save, rescue or protect another person from death or imminent grave bodily injury. The risk to the officer shall have been so great, that no blame could be laid upon the officer had he or she not acted.

Chris Logsdon

Sam Powell

Phil Archibald

Gary Bailiff





Mike Mooney

Bill Thompson

Tim Isabell



The Distinguished Service Medal

The Distinguished Service Medal shall be presented to sworn or civilian employees. It shall be presented when in any one unusual or unique dangerous incident or series of events, a recipient demonstrates an unusually high degree of intelligence, courage, fortitude, strength, skill or tenacity, and such actions are above and beyond the general call of duty and greatly enhance the efficiency, or safety of the Wyoming Highway Patrol and / or it's employees.

Jim McKenzie

Tom Stoker

Dan Dyer

Brad Anderson





Dave Chatfield

Gerry Cook

Carl McDonald

Buck Reisner





Jim Geeting

Jim Wilson

Jack Abbott

Gene Saltz





Lenny DeClercq

Phil Browder

Dave Schofield

Karen Beckner





Delane Baldwin

Cliff Bryant

Deb Sommerfeldt

Bill Kirkman





Stan Warne

Steve Townsend

Kleif Guenther

Brent Taylor





Rick Dye X2

Richard Burridge

Bob Garner

Fred Oyler





Keith Groeneweg

Kathy Majerus

Adam Davies

Carla Nichols

The Combat Cross

he Combat Cross shall be presented to any sworn officer who actively, primarily, and directly, is involved in any confrontation with a violent adversary, wherein shots were fired, or direct hand to hand combat took place. Such hand to hand combat must have been extreme and taxing due to the suspect's strength or skill. Further, because of the officer's skill, intelligence, strength, accuracy and courage, the suspect was stopped or taken into custody without further threat to the public or other officers.

Steve Watt

Gary Radcliff

Mike Swofford

Everette Ayers





Rick Dye X2

Troy McLees

Delane Baldwin

Deb Sommerfeldt





Dan Dyer

Stan Warne

Dave Coleman

Harry Smith





Joe Arzy

John Bauer

Dan Hensley

Howard Parkin





Dave Coleman

Clint Becker

Bill Kirkman X2

Ron Woodward





Lavar Olson

Troy Thompson

Jim Wilson

Cliff Ritchie





Jason Green

Mike Mooney

Devan Henderson

Kelly Broad





Steve Huntley

Bob Garner X2

Chuck Atkins

Tracy Self





Todd Leimser

Ted Bair

Paul Brunner

Stephen Townsend





Adam Davies

Carla Nichols

Joe Ryle

Tom Pritchard





Burl Gies

John Jerkins

Mike Picerno  


The Purple Heart

he Purple Heart shall be presented to any sworn officer who, in any law enforcement activity or emergency response action, on or off duty, sustains serious bodily injury. Serious bodily injury is defined as any trauma or internal injury, which requires the immediate attention of a medical doctor, and time off for recovery.

Larry Szabo

Dennis Wilson

Sam Powell

Steve Watt





Gary Jones

Mike Tortorici X2

Pat Adams

Gary Marsden





Doug Dome

Duane Verley

Ted Bair

Paul Mann





Shane Swilling

Joe Arzy

Troy Thompson

Doug Deskin





Sam Donahue

Howard Parkin X2

Jim GeetingX2

Francis Parrott





Guy Naquin

Lucian Carter

Mike Rayburn

John O'Connor X2





Delane Baldwin

Darrell Ketchum

John Bauer

Lance Novak





Tracy Self

Justin Minard

Paul Brunner

Kelly Hand





Eric Dearcorn

Joshua Blanchard



The Luke Schauland Medal of Life

The Luke Schauland Medal of Life shall be presented to any person who, because of quick, direct action, saves the life of any person who most certainly would have expired had the recipient not acted with skill and urgency.

Brian King

Mark Schauland

Richard Burridge

Mike Martin





Aaron Kleinman

Steve Huntley X2

Toni Long

Bob Garner





Carol Johnson

Terry Vincent

Dale Deepe

Ernest Richie





Gordon Herring

John Muller

Craig Sax

Kathy Starr

Adam Longo      

Exemplary Citizen

he Exemplary Citizen Award shall be presented to any civilian not attached to the Wyoming Highway Patrol, who, at great personal risk, comes to the aid of any Wyoming Highway Patrol Officer in need of assistance due to a combative suspect.

Frankie Nelson

Robert Gaston

Brandon Wittrock

Frank Darty





Dave Darty

Bill Darty



Meritorious Conduct

he Meritorious Conduct Award shall be presented to any Wyoming Highway Patrol employee who, in any unusual or unique incident, performs at a level deserving of peer group recognition; and, in the event of any other person not attached to the Wyoming Highway Patrol, performs above and beyond any level which would be expected of a civilian volunteer.

Rick Dye

Ginger DiJohn

Gary Jones

Janet Geeting





Tamara Jones

Troy Maddox

Tom Adams

Dennis Wilson





William Powell

Missy Grimm

Michelle Ryle

Tom Dolbare





Heather O'Connor X2

Dianne Hansen

Dave Alley

Kelly Burns X2





Carol Rodriguez

Terry's Towing

Dr. Jack Digliani

Hanna Fire / Rescue





Jim Bonner

WLEA Food Services

Alan Osterland

Daniel Hawkins





Scott Bohle

Mike Darty

Larry Jordan X2

Richard Darty





Terry Hansen

Terry Adcock

Jim Armstrong

Jo Tennant





Tammy Varchette

Dr. Lawrence Greene

Carol Dinkins

Kim McLees





Jana Belt X2

Sandra Stimson

Adam Davies

Tom Pritchard





Kate Sherrod

Joyce Knapp



Carlie's Gift

This financial gift is very special. It is named for Carlie McDonald, who, on New Year's day in 1998, was killed by an intoxicated driver. Carlie, was the only child of WHP Lieutenant Carl McDonald. She was five years old. The award is based upon $5 for every DWUI arrest made in the previous year by members of the Wyoming Highway Patrol. Carlie's dad, Carl, selects that person or group, who, in his opinion, has contributed in some outstanding way to the fight against DWUI, either by enforcement or education and assistance.

1999 - M.A.D.D. Wyoming

2000 - Fremont Traffic Safety

2001 - Fremont Traffic Safety

2002-M.A.D.D. National





2003-M.A.D.D. Wyoming

2004 -  Fremont Traffic Safety
     M.A.D.D. Wyoming

2005 -  Fremont Traffic Safety
     M.A.D.D. Wyoming

2006 -  Fremont Traffic Safety
     M.A.D.D. Wyoming





2006 -  Fremont Traffic Safety
 M.A.D.D. Wyoming

2008 - MADD Wyoming and Fremont County again for Carlies Gift 



Your Name
Your Email
Nominee's Name
What Award?
Why are you nominating this person?  
© 2010 Wyoming Highway Patrol Association, Cheyenne, Wyoming. All rights reserved.
wyomingstatetrooper.com v3.0
This site is optimized for Internet Explorer 7.0